Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit. Aenean commodo ligula eget dolor. Aenean massa cum sociis Theme natoque.

Latest Posts

184 Main Collins Street West Victoria 807
Image Alt



One of the most beautiful views in Istria can be enjoyed from Vižinada and the surrounding hillside of Sv.Tomo (St Thomas hill). The wonderful views are spread across abundantly fruitful vineyards which grow on the red and white soil, gentle sylvan hummocks filled with various fruits, on which Motovun, Završje and other small medieval towns proudly stand. Green meadows filled with colourful wild flowers, the bountiful valley of the river Mirna and above all of them, the wide celestial bowl giving to the spectator a feeling of absolute freedom. The streets of Vižinada eagerly expect every traveler, offering history and curiosities with which not many small towns can boast. Vižinada`s main square is encompassed by fascinating artifacts such as the old cistern with two lovely wells as well as Venetian emblems which adorn the surrounding buildings. Behind the square there is an old repository, which keeps engraved winged lion and an interesting tablet with the engraved levies from the ancient harbor of Baštija that relate a story of passed times.
Apart from historical and cultural notabilities, lush vineyards which, due to the quality of the soil, bring forth wines of extraordinary bouquets, remarkable cuisine enchanted with fruits of this picturesque area, the  old town of Vižinada also  offers unique recreational delights on the refurbished railroad Parenzana, one-time railway connection between Poreč and Trieste. On the 123 kilometres long track, walkers and cyclists will pass through fresh gorgeous forests, delightful little towns, stone made villages, mystical tunnels, cross over unshakable viaducts and marvel in the diversity of the landscapes and colours in which this area really flourishes.


More about Vizinada

According to the inscriptions, Vižinada is about one thousand years old.
The real upraise comes after Vižinada was populated by the inhabitants of the ancient Ružar. This, now extinct, place was located beneath today’s Vižinada, by the Krvar brook, a tributary  of the river Mirna. Ružar was inhabited in prehistoric times. Life in Ružar continued flourishing even during the times of the ancient Rome, mainly due to an important Roman road called Via Flavia passing through the center. It has been assumed that the area was populated until the beginning of the 15th century when its inhabitants moved to a location that is today Vižinada.
The history of Vižinada is very interesting. On Božje polje (The God`s field), in the 11th century, St.Mary`s church was built. In the year 1119, the templar’s monastery was founded here and Božje polje became the center of templars in Istria. On Friday 13th  in October of 1307, French king Philippe the Fair, organised a mass hunting and execution of the  Templar Knights and by 1312 the order of the Templar Knights vanished. Their place from that time on was taken by the Maltese Knights,  and after them, in the year 1526, the monastery was occupied by the Franciscan monks of Third Order.
Above the church door still stands the head of Attila the Hun who, according to some legends, ended his life in this area. Behind the famous cistern, with the two wells from the 1772, there is an old building with an engraved Venetian lion dating back from the 15th century and a stone table with the engraved tariffs from Baštija harbour from the year 1726. Baštija harbour was located on the river Mirna and contains a table with engraved levies which were meant to be paid for loading and unloading of wood, grain and wine.
The famous ballerina Carlotta Grisi, born in 1819, was originally from Vižinada. The famous railway Parenzana, operating from 1902-1935, provided so much prosperity for this small town.
Today Vižinada is developing through natural beauty and all its gifts, abundant historical and cultural legacy, combing interesting past with the demands of modern times.


St. Barnabas church
 – from the 13th century with the cycles of frescoes along with some 15th century graffiti
St.John the Baptist church – with the lookout, built in 1579.
St.Jerome`s church – from the 16th century, with two marble statues belonging to St.Jerome and St.Barnaba at the altar; a 25 meters high tower with octagonal cylinder built in the 17th century
St.Rocco`s church – built in 1583.
St.Mary`s church, in Božje polje – built in the 12th century, with the illustrated arc, on the frontage still stands an unusual stone head of Attila the Hun
Public cistern on the square – built in the 1772. a baroque cistern with two wells, with an embedded Venetian lion from the 15th century and a stone table with engraved levies from 1726.
Cycling – excellently reformed old railway track which passes through beautiful landscapes, over viaducts and through tunnels


The sardine feast – held at the end of July in Vabriga
St. Mary`s – public feast, held on the 14th of August on the square of Vižinada, with abundant offer of different local manufacturers, we also recommend a visit to the exhibit of  the Wines of Vižinada
Cycling marathon Parenzana – recreational type, held at the end of September and passing through local towns and over old viaducts following the old railway track Parenzana
Slatka Istra / Sweet Istria – a festival of local pastry and desserts, held on the 15th of August
Verši na Šterni / Verses on the Well – traditional gathering of poets from all of Istria, speaking the “čakavski” dialect, held at the beginning of June.